Waiting Periods for Sealing and Expunging Records

Waiting periods vary depending on the type of charge and how many convictions you have:

  • Misdemeanors have a one-year waiting period
  • A single felony charge has a three-year waiting period
  • Two felony charges have a four-year waiting period
  • Three to five felony charges have a five-year waiting period

The waiting period does not begin until all sentencing requirements from the conviction have concluded.  For example, if you were placed on probation for one year for a felony conviction, and were ordered to pay fines and court costs, the waiting period would not begin until your probation was terminated and all fines and costs were paid on the case.  

comments powered by Disqus